OneSixthFigures
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OneSixthFigures

An online community to discuss and share news about sixth-scale figures, with an emphasis on either custom or commercial articulated figures.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Leather Vest Armour: One Piece Wet-Forming for Female Shape

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Tanzenwolfe

Tanzenwolfe
I’m no expert in this but pleased with how this worked out, so thought I would share!  This includes making the custom pattern, cutting and fitting the shape, wet forming the leather, then option extras of engraving, rivets and fur.

Due to rubbish rural wifi I can only post a few photos at once, here goes.

The finished armour vest!

Leather Vest Armour: One Piece Wet-Forming for Female Shape Img_1810

Materials List:

Leather (about 2-2.5 mm thick) I used offcuts you can pick up quite cheaply
Masking tape (builders tape?)
Big sharp scissors for leather, small sharp scissors for cutting the pattern off the figure
A body! **Using a 17b TBLeague body here.
Cling film/glad wrap
Cardboard for the pattern (cereal packet type is good)
Pens for marking
Hot water in a bowl
Patience

Optional Extras:
Engraving pen (cheap, $10-15 on those big usual sites; battery powered and can engrave wood/glass etc)
Tiny rivets - I used 1mm internal diameter, setting tool. (I looked up the history of rivets after I’d already used them and this blows any historical accuracy, but oh well…..)
Faux fur and glue
Thin but strong cord/thread for lacing

2Leather Vest Armour: One Piece Wet-Forming for Female Shape Empty Make the pattern template Fri Feb 09, 2024 4:26 am

Tanzenwolfe

Tanzenwolfe
To begin - wrap the body torso in cling film. Then wrap with masking tape covering all the area you want your armour to go.

Using a biro pen, draw the armour shape. I wanted as few joins as possible so kept it as one piece.