OneSixthFigures
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
OneSixthFigures

An online community to discuss and share news about sixth-scale figures, with an emphasis on either custom or commercial articulated figures.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Moldable thermoplastic

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Moldable thermoplastic Empty Moldable thermoplastic Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:56 pm

csyeung

csyeung
Ok, so I'm still learning to use this product, but thought I'd document some of my experimentation here. A friend of mine introduced me to this product as she was using it to make a better neck adapter for one of her figures. Sometimes you're not sure which one to get or if it will work properly or if you'd have to dremmel it out cause the head sits too high, etc.

Anyway, here is a picture of the product I got, there are different brands and a bag like this was like 20 bucks i think? Should last a while for 1/6 usage. A pinch of maybe 20 beads was enough for this tiny project i did. (im not sure how much i used cause i definitely used more than i needed)

Moldable thermoplastic Dsc02318
Moldable thermoplastic Dsc02317

So here I have a 25b, and as you know the neck peg is smaller than most standard neck adapters. So what I did was grab some hot water, and I apologize, I really should have taken more photos, but wasn't sure if it'd work. Dump them into a bowl of BOILING HOT WATER. Now you can use hot tap water or a hair dryer, but I found it works faster/better with boiling water. What you want to see is the white beads turn TRANSPARENT. At this point use something to fish them out like a toothpick or modeling stick. The plastic will tend to clump together. At this stage, it is a bit sticky. I found out it sticks to the plastic used for the head sculpt so be careful.